> MENU *

CLEO 2024 Honorees

Optica is proud to recognize the outstanding achievements of our community.

Please join us in congratulating the following honorees being recognized during the CLEO 2024 Plenary Session I.

Charles Hard Townes Medal

Established in 1980 to honor Charles Hard Townes, whose pioneering contributions to masers and lasers led to the development of the field of quantum electronics, the medal recognizes outstanding experimental or theoretical work, discovery or invention in the field of quantum electronics.



Franco NoriRIKEN, Japan, and University of Michigan, USA

For his many fundamental contributions to quantum optics, quantum information processing, and quantum circuits, and for the development of key quantum software tools.

William F. Meggers Award

Established in 1970 to honor William Meggers for his notable contributions to the field of spectroscopy and metrology, this medal recognizes outstanding work in spectroscopy.



Nathalie Picqué Max-Born Institute, Germany

For pioneering broadband molecular spectroscopy with interfering frequency combs.

2024 Fellows

Recognizing Optica members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics and photonics through distinguished contributions to education, research, engineering, business leadership and society. <u>View a complete list of 2024 Fellows.</u>



Firooz Aflatouni University of Pennsylvania, USA

For interdisciplinary work on integrated photonic-electronic systems including photonic deep neural networks for direct image classification and photonic-assisted microwave imaging



Vladimir Aksyuk

National Inst of Standards & Technology, USA

For pioneering contributions to optical switching and sensing systems utilizing micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS) actuation principles and nanophotonics

Muyinatu A. Lediju Bell

Johns Hopkins University, USA

For pioneering contributions to photoacoustic imaging techniques and applications for surgical guidance





Andrea Blanco-Redondo

CREOL, The College of Optics and Photonics, University of Central Florida, USA For her discovery of pure-quartic solitons and pioneering contributions to topological quantum photonics



Garrett Cole

Thorlabs Inc, USA

For advancements in precision optical metrology, namely the pioneering development and successful commercialization of novel substrate-transferred crystalline optical interference coatings



Jean-Michel Di Nicola

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA

For world-class scientific and engineering contributions in high-energy and high-peak-power laser systems, and key technical leadership at the National Ignition Facility



Peter Dragic

Univ of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

For pioneering contributions to intrinsically low nonlinearity optical fiber, fiber laser materials, and modeling



Simin Feng

US Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Division, USA

For groundbreaking scientific and technical leadership in metamaterial transition and in creating a paradigm shift in active denial technology



Martin C. Fischer

Duke University, USA

For pioneering contributions to nonlinear optical microscopy and imaging in biomedicine, materials science, and cultural heritage



Frédéric Grillot

Télécom Paris, Institut Polytechnique de Paris, France, and The University of New-Mexico, USA For his pioneering work on mid infrared optoelectronics and quantum dot lasers for silicon photonics



Javier Antonio Jo

University of Oklahoma, USA

For pioneering contributions to the integration of optical imaging and artificial intelligence for biomedical applications and service to the optical community



Pei-Cheng Ku

University of Michigan, USA

For pioneering contributions to semiconductor nanostructured optoelectronic materials, devices, and their applications



Ray-Kuang Lee

National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan

For demonstrated quantum machine-learning, and the implementation of quantum noise reduction for the advanced gravitational wave detectors, and the development of quantum noise squeezing



Jurgen Michel

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

For pioneering contributions to germanium-on-silicon integrated photonics and to erbium-in-silicon light-emitting devices



AdValue Photonics Inc, USA

For outstanding technology and business leadership contributions to the industrial laser field and exemplary services to Optica and the photonics





community

Arup Neogi

University of Electronic Science & Technology of China, China For pioneering contributions to ultrafast and nonlinear effects in semiconductors and sustained global research in photonics and phononics



Roberto Paiella

Boston University, USA

For outstanding contributions to the development of novel optoelectronic devices based on quantum-confined systems and photonic nanostructures



Mark C. Phillips

Wyant College of Optical Sciences, University of Arizona, USA For significant contributions to broadband laser spectroscopy and applications to gas sensing, characterization of solids, and plasma diagnostics



Matteo Rinaldi

Northeastern University, USA

For pioneering contributions to the research, development, and commercialization of zero-power wireless infrared sensors



Todd Stievater

US Naval Research Laboratory, USA

For scientific advances in quantum confined semiconductors, micro-opto-mechanical systems, waveguides, integrated photonics, and their development for DOD applications



Alexander Szameit

University of Rostock, Germany

For groundbreaking contributions to photonic simulations of quantum and solid state phenomena



Jonathan J. Wierer, Jr.

North Carolina State University, USA

For pioneering contributions to the physics and engineering of high-efficiency, high-power light-emitting-diode illumination sources



Shuiqing "Fisher" Yu

University of Arkansas, USA

For technical innovations and leadership in developing SiGeSn optoelectronics infrared sensor applications



Avi Zadok

Bar-Ilan University, Israel

For pioneering optomechanical sensing outside optical fibers



Chao Zhou

Washington University in St Louis, USA For pioneering advancements in parallel OCT imaging technologies and the development of non-invasive optogenetic pacing

techniques in animal models

OPTICA.ORG <u>Publications</u> <u>Events</u> <u>Membership</u>

<u>Industry</u>

INFORMATION

<u>Help</u>

Contact Us

Policies & Legal

HELPFUL LINKS

<u>Join Optica or Renew</u>

<u>Store</u>

Find an Event

ABOUT US

Optica, advancing optics and photonics worldwide.



Copyright © 2024 Optica www.optica.org